Dr. D. Ramamurthy

Cataract, Ophthalmology (Eye), Refractive Surgery / Lasik


  • Fellowship in Vitreoretinal Surgery
  • Worked as Vitreoretinal Consultant under Dr.S.S.Badrinath at Chennai for two years.
  • Was the Chairman – Scientific Committee of All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) which is an association of over 18,000 Ophthalmologists from all over India. As Chairman he was in charge of coordinating the entire scientific activities of the association from 2008 – 2014.
  • At present he is the President of AIOS and Immediate Past President of Tamilnadu Ophthalmic Association (TNOA).
  • Created e-awareness among the Ophthalmologists and started Email group to discuss, clear clinical doubts in day-to-day practice, which is being accessed by nearly 8400 ophthalmologists on a daily basis.
  • Edited “Ready Reckoner in Ophthalmology” for a universal code of preferred practice covering the entire gamut of ophthalmology. This book with more than 300 authors contributing is a ready reference for the practitioner as well as student of ophthalmology.
  • Has chaired sessions, presented papers, guest lectures, Instruction Courses and performed Live Surgeries at:
  • ASCRS meetings at San Diego, Boston, Washington, Chicago and San Francisco.
  • ESCRS (European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery) meet at Paris, London, Stockholm, Berlin and Barcelona.
  • Australian Society of Cataract and Refractive surgery (AUSCRS) meet at Cairns, Australia
  • Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology meetings at Manila, Bangkok, Singapore, Bali, Busan & New Delhi.
  • Has delivered guest lectures at the Vietnam National meet.
  • SAARC Ophthalmology meetings at Katmandu and Colombo.
  • Malaysian Ophthalmic Society, Kuala Lumpur (Twice)


  • Dr.C.B.Bhaskaran Ophthalmic oration award by IMA Tamil Nadu.
  • Dr. P. Siva Reddy Gold Medal Oration award by Andhra Pradesh Ophthalmic Society
  • Retina Foundation Oration award by Gujarat Ophthalmic Society
  • Dr. Mahendra Mishra Oration award by Orissa Ophthalmic Society
  • Dr. T. Agarwal gold medal by Intraocular Implant Refractive Society, India
  • Captain Kiran Sen memorial lecture awarded by Regional Institute of Ophthalmology, Kolkata
  • Dr. Vinod Arora oration awarded by Uttarkhand State Ophthalmological Society
  • Gold Medal from Bombay Ophthalmic Association
  • Dr. Joseph Gnanadhickam Memorial Gold medal oration award by Tamilnadu Ophthalmic Association
  • Dr. Ishwarchandra oration award by Vidharba Ophthalmological Society


  • MBBS from JIPMER, Pondicherry
  • M.D. Ophthalmology
  • DNB in Ophthalmology