Dr. Chitra Ramamurthy

Cataract, Glaucoma, Ophthalmology (Eye), Refractive Surgery / Lasik


  • Dr. Chitra Ramamurthy has been in private practice in ophthalmology in Coimbatore working with her husband, Dr D Ramamurthy, since 1990 after completing her post graduation. Her areas of strength are cataract, refractive surgery and glaucoma and she has been abreast with all the premium procedures evolving over the years in each of these segments. She has been a pioneer in Refractive Surgery performing refractive procedures since 1997 in large numbers inclusive of all the cutting edge technology. She has had the special distinction of conducting a variety of instruction courses in both India and abroad partaking in ASCRS, APAO and APACRS on a regular basis. She has also many papers to her credit and has contributed to chapters in text books on Refractive surgeries.
  • She has had the opportunity to conduct TNOA state conferences as the scientific committee chairperson in the year 2002 and 2015 and brought in newer initiatives.
  • She is now the Member - Scientific Committee of the All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) for the period 2017 to 2020. AIOS is the second largest ophthalmological association of the world with over 18000 members.
  • Oratorial skills are her forte and she has presided over many an event to talk on a variety of subjects . She has been involved in many community outreach programs in her city and has been invited to chair many social events.


  • Shiva Prasad Hardia award for Refractive Surgery at AIOC 2009 @ Jaipur
  • CP Gupta Best Paper Award for the overall best paper at Tamil Nadu Ophthalmic Society
  • Dr. P.R. Mondal Memorial Oration award 2017 by OSWB
  • 28th Dr. D. Sundareswaran Endowment Oration award by IMA Coimbatore chapter 2017
  • Dr. Om Prakash Gold Medal 2016
  • Dr Vinod Aurora Oration Award 2015
  • Dr. Subodh Agarwal Gold Medal 2012


  • MBBS
  • Post Graduation in Ophthalmology