Doctor Profile


The core value system of the hospital revolves around care without compromise.
Patient care comes first, as does excellence in eye care delivery

Dr. Chitra Ramamurthy - Cataract, Glaucoma & Refractive Surgery

Dr. Chitra Ramamurthy

Cataract, Glaucoma & Refractive Surgery


  • PRESIDENT, Coimbatore Society of Ophthalmic Surgeons 
  • MEDICAL DIRECTOR, The Eye Foundation, A chain of 21 eye hospitals in South India
  • Highly Proficient in Cataract, Refractive surgery and Glaucoma
  • A pioneer in Refractive Surgery performing refractive procedures since 1997in large numbers inclusive of all the cutting edge technology
  • Had the special distinction of conducting innumerable instruction courses in both Indiaand abroad partaking in ASCRS, APAO, APACRS & ESCRS on a regular basis.
  • Has also many papers to her credit, both nationally & internationally and has contributedto chapters in text books on Refractive surgeries.
  • Dr. Chitra Ramamurthy, Medical Director, The Eye Foundation group of eye hospitals, has been in private practice along with her husband, Dr. Ramamurthy, since 1990 with keen interest in cataract, refractive and glaucoma surgery, heading the latter department over the years.
  • She has had the opportunity to perform premium procedures in cataract surgery in huge numbers. She has been the pioneer in refractive surgery in our country, performing Lasik since 1997, doing all the latest of refractive procedures that evolved along the trajectory of evolution of refractive surgery.
  • She has performed one of the highest no's of LVC procedures that include lasik, PRK, Topoguided treatments, Phakic IOLs and Relex Smile procedures.
  • She heads the glaucoma department which has access to the best of technologies for the patient community at large with all the latest in glaucoma procedures done in its ambit..
  • She has had the opportunity to conduct TNOA state conferences as the scientific committee chairperson in the year 2002 and 2015 and brought in newer initiatives.


  • CHAIRPERSON – Academic Research Committee, AIOS (2020 - 2023)
  • Member Scientific Committee of AIOS, 2017 - 2020
  • Chairperson, Scientific committee of TNOA in the year 2002 and 2015
  • Past Management committee member of TNOA


She has received the best paper awards in the state and national levels:

  • Dr. AN Pandeya oration award by Bihar ophthalmic society 2023
  • Shri T.R. Bhasin IIRSI Gold Medal Award by IIRSI Gwalior 2023
  • Women Icon of the year award 2022 by ISMSICS
  • Dr K Shivaramakrishna’s Gold Medal Lecture 2022 by APOS
  • Excellence Award – Refractive at Annual ISKCRS 2022
  • Honorary FAICO Award at AIOC 2022
  • DR R P TANDON ORATION By Jharkhand Ophthalmological Society 2021
  • Recipient of the TOS – Ravi Kumar Reddy Oration award 2018
  • Dr. P.R. Mondal Memorial Oration award 2017 by OSWB
  • Dr. D. Sundareswaran Endowment Oration award by IMA Coimbatore chapter 2017
  • Dr. Om Prakash Gold Medal 2016
  • Dr. Vinod Aurora Oration Award 2015 by Uttarakand Ophthalmic Society
  • Dr. Subodh Agarwal Gold Medal 2012 at IIRSI conference
  • Shiv Prasad Hardia award for the best paper in Refractive Surgery, AIOS 2009
  • CP Gupta Best Paper Award for the overall best paper at Tamil Nadu Ophthalmic society
  • Oratorial skills are her forte and she has presided over many an event to talk on a variety of subjects. She has been involved in many community outreach programs in her city and has been invited to chair many social events. Voracious reading is her avid hobby. She is blessed with a son and a daughter.


  • MBBS
  • Post Graduation in Ophthalmology
Call Now Book Appointment